Mary de Rachewiltz is 85 Today!

“The urge to write my own story took hold of me at an early age. I must have been eight when I started very formally: ‘My name is Maria Rudge. I was born on the 9th of July 1925 in Bressanone. Nine days I had to live under a glass bell because I was not ripe. … I have blond hair and blue eyes. … I also have a little white dog called Turggile and a black lamb which lives with me…. It is a nice fat lamb with curly fleece.'” — Ezra Pound, Father and Teacher: Discretions

This excerpt hardly gives a sense of the great interest or poetic power of Mary de Rachewiltz‘s autobiography, but it’s an appropriate one for this day in particular. Stay tuned for a birthday tribute in Paideuma, volume 37, a marvelous portfolio assembled by Richard Sieburth.

Leave a Reply

